Appendix | Recovering Previous Design Versions with Undo and Change History
If enabled, users can rewind and fast-forward to any point in their recent edit history. When changes are detected, a compact Undo widget displays in the bottom left corner of the stage:
The widget displays 3 actions:
Undo and Redo arrows that offer the classic pattern to move back and forth between changes.
A history icon that expands a timeline of the latest changes:
Change History Timeline
The timeline allows the user to browse through the most recent changes.
All the steps display:
- An icon to identify the content element type (an image, text, etc.)
- A description of what changed, giving the new property value (if any)
- The exact time it happened
All these details provide enough information for users to understand what modification was applied and, if desired, rewind the design to that state:
When the user selects a previous step, the content or row that triggered the history record displays as the selected item, providing further context.
The timeline for more recent changes is still available, allowing the user to move forward without losing any changes:
The Undo widget currently displays the last 15 edits in the timeline, but users can always rewind to the Message opened state to undo all changes since the design was initially opened in the editor.